M:ST News – September 2016


Alberta’s only biennial festival of performative art, the Mountain Standard Time Festival (M:ST) will take place October 1 – 2 in Lethbridge, and October 21 – 26 in Calgary. Now in its eighth edition, M:ST celebrates innovative and critically engaged performative art in the southern Alberta region.

The programming for M:ST 8 highlights the vital, evolving character of contemporary performative art practice. In addition to this season’s exciting lineup, M:ST 8 will also feature lectures, film screenings, panel discussions, exhibitions, and interactive workshops.

sophia bartholomew
Alana Bartol
Nathalie Mba Bikoro and Terrance Houle
Tom Brown
Caitlind R. C. Brown, Lane Shordee, and Nikki Martens
Christian Bujold
Desearch Repartment
echo + seashell
Serge Olivier Fokoua
Geneviève et Matthieu
Heather Hermant and Alvis Parsley
Serena Lee
James Luna with Sheila Skinner
Lisa Lipton
Patrick Morarescu
Hugo Nadeau
Grayson Richards
Jessie Short
Alexander M Steinitz

In addition, M:ST 8 will feature a performative art workshop by the TouVA Performance Art Research Collective. The Infiltrating and Relational Practice in Public Space workshop will focus on various exercises such as centering, observing and energy channeling in order to inspire the creative process of each participant, regardless of their discipline and their artistic creation interests.

Presented in conjunction with the 8th edition of the M:ST Festival, a meeting of the National Performance Art Presenters will take place in Calgary, Alberta on October 25 and 26. This groundbreaking retreat assembles representatives of organizations that are dedicated to the promotion and exhibition of performance art across Canada.

M:ST8 is presented in partnership with Attainable Records, CSIF – The Calgary Society of Independent Filmmakers, Casa, EMMEDIA Gallery & Production Society, Illingworth Kerr Gallery, LOFT 112, Southern Alberta Art Gallery, Stride Gallery, The New Gallery, Trianon Gallery, TRUCK Contemporary Art in Calgary, University of Calgary, University of Lethbridge, and Untitled Art Society.